Award 2006

BioSpectrum presents Biotech industry awards 2006



Source

Article Title

BioSpectrum presents Biotech industry awards 2006

URL

http://www.biospectrumindia.comma kesections.asp/0701101.asp

Section Bio Events

Author Name Namratha Jagtap

Author Email

namrathaj@cybermedia.co.in

BioSpectrum announced the winners of the 4th edition of the much-awaited biotech industry awards, BioSpectrum Awards 2006 for various categories, on December 11, 2006.

At a glittering function hosted by BioSpectrum in association with Bio-Rad Laboratories in Bangalore, the BioSpectrum Person of the Year Award was presented to M Ramasami, Chairman and Managing Director of Rasi Seeds, Attur, for his efforts in giving cotton farmers in the country, quality Bt hybrids that have resulted in higher yields and lesser consumption of pesticides.

The Life Time Achievement Award was conferred upon Dr RA Mashelkar, Director General, CSIR, for excellence in biotechnology for over three decades. Dr Mashelkar has left his everlasting imprints in the Indian biotech sector, by advising, motivating, and by removing the various obstacles in the way of the biotech industry.

Dr Villoo Morawala-Patell, Founder and CEO of Avesthagen, was presented the Entrepreneur of the Year Award, for driving Avesthagen, one of India's hottest biotech companies, through an innovative business model which combines both product development and services.

The BioSpectrum Biotech Leadership Award was presented to Kapil Sibal, Union Minister for Science and Technology, as a recognition to the outstanding change he has brought to the thinking in the science and technology environs in general and biotechnology in particular.

The Product of the Year Award went to Plasma Proteins category of products (AlbuRel, ImmunoRel, ReliSeal, HemoRel A and ReliPlasma) developed by Mumbai-based Reliance Life Sciences. Plasma Proteins are used in critical life saving conditions and situations. Plasma proteins were almost entirely imported to India till Reliance Life Sciences launched the Plasma category of products in 2005.

The awards nite was graced by industry pioneers like Dr Cyrus Poonawalla, Chairman, Serum Institute of India, who was the chief guest on the occasion, Dr MK Bhan, secretary, Department of Biotechnology, and Chairman of the BioSpectrum Awards Jury along with other biotech industry leaders.

Speaking on the occasion, N Suresh, Editor, BioSpectrum, said, "It gives us immense pleasure to crown the champions of Indian Biotech industry. BioSpectrum has always endeavored to promote talent in the area of biotech and shall continue doing so".

The awards night began with a panel discussion on what should be the biotech vision for 2015 and how to traverse this path, where industry stalwarts discussed the rising significance of biotech industry.



Other results

Bangalore-based Biocon Ltd bagged the BioIndustrial Company of the Year Award, for clocking revenues to the tune of Rs 85 crore in sales.

While Pune-based Serum Institute of India bagged the BioPharma Company of the Year Award, the BioServices Company of the Year Award went to Quintiles India.

Dhiren Wagle, the Country Manager for Bio-Rad Laboratories, who presented the award for these categories, said, "It's a matter of privilege for Bio-Rad to be associated with BioSpectrum". He added, "The biotech industry is in a boom phase and holds a lot of promise for the future."

Mahyco Monsanto Biotech Ltd, the technology licensing arm of Monsanto for the Bt cotton seed, bagged the BioAgri Company of the Year Award, while Thermo Fischer Scientific was presented the BioSupplier of the Year Award.

Namratha Jagtap